Welcome to Physical Science! Here you can find out what we do each day, and get copies of all handouts from class.


11/19/13 - Tuesday


11/18/13 - Monday


11/15/23 - Friday
  • Go over q’s on review sheet
  • Bonds quiz - based on
  • Work on Chem Reactions Overview with textbook Chem Reactions Overview.pdf
  • Finish for HW


11/14/13 - Thursday
  • Clicker Review Questions
  • Go over Writing Formulas and Naming Compounds
  • Go over review sheets for quiz, okay to use along with NB
    File Not Found
    File Not Found
  • Work time finishing:


11/13/13 - Wednesday


11/12/13 - Tuesday
  • Q’s, collect valence clues and Families of Elements WS
  • Notes on Ionic Bonds
  • Notes on intro to reactions
  • Finish Bonds pkt


11/07/13 - Friday


11/07/13 - Thursday
  • Quick overview of bonds
  • 2 Videos with notes
  • Work on Periodic table cards + WS

11/06/13 - Wednesday

11/05/13 - Tuesday
  • Minutephysics
  • Bohr model wrap-up - what is an e-, anyway?
  • Check grades
  • Finish, turn in Bohr Model WS (pink)
  • Period trends WS Periodic Trends.pdf
  • Finish coloring/labeling Periodic Tables

11/04/13 - Monday
  • Review Candium lab, collect.
  • Q’s, Collect “Build an Ion” activity
  • Notes on Electron Structure
  • Look at patterns on periodic table
  • Color Periodic Table
  • Start “Atomic Structure: Bohr Model” WS. Finish tomorrow Atomic Structure Bohr Models.pdf


10/31/13 - Thursday

10/30/13 - Wednesday
  • Go over Quiz - review with groups who need help with various topics
  • Work on Ch 18&19 Periodic table ws
  • catch-up

10/29/13 - Tuesday

10/28/13 - Monday
  • Review atomic stuff for quiz
  • Paste metric prefixes in notes
  • Finish: Ion pkt, density/metric ws
  • work on Atomic Review Atomic review.pdf
  • hand back assignments


10/24/13 - Thursday

10/23/13 - Wednesday
  • Overview of Ions
  • Finish Atomic Structure Review and Intro to Ions (blue) - Use textbook
  • Start Ion pkt. Ions pkt.pdf
  • Check grades

10/22/13 - Tuesday
  • Paste metric prefixes, examples in notes
  • Review Isotope, Ion, etc
  • Finish Isotopes Pkt (White)
  • Isotope Computer Lab Isotopes Computer Lab.pdf


10/21/13 0 Monday


10/18/13 - Friday
  • Questions about lab? Collect
  • Review SI and Metric Prefixes
  • Q’s, finish Metric Prefixes WS
  • Overview of structure of atom
  • Build an Atom activity build an atom .pdf, pre lab sim.pdf


10/17/13 - Thursday
  • Go over SI Units, metric prefixes
  • Work on graphing, Finish lab, turn in
  • Put Metric Prefixes, SI Units in notes
  • Finish Density Calculations
  • Metric prefix WS Metric prefixes and conversions ws.pdf

10/15/13 - Tuesday


10/14/13 - Monday
  • Finish Blue “Intro to Density Questions”
  • Work on Density WS probs until we go into lab
  • Collect Density Lab data for solid and liquid (Mass and Volume) Density Lab.pdf
  • Finish Density WS probs as needed


10/10/13 - Thursday

10/09/13 - Wednesday


10/08/13 - Tuesday
  • Notes on graphing
  • Questions on which graphs to use when
    File Not Found
    File Not Found
  • Intro to density
  • Finish intro to graphing activity, make graph on computer


10/07013 - Monday
  • Q’s, Collect Organizing Data
  • Collect Assignment Sheet
  • Go over graphing rules
  • Get papers handed back
  • Work on Intro to graphing activity, finish for HW Intro to graphing.pdf


10/04/13 - Friday
  • Quiz - Sig Figs, Sci Not & classification of matter
  • Start on "Organizing Data" ws Organizing Data.pdf


10/03/13 - Thursday
  • Quiz F - Sig Figs, Sci Not & classification of matter
    File Not Found
    File Not Found
  • Q’s on Classification of Matter activity, Collect
  • Work on Sci Not Review Sheet
  • Tour model schools in Psychology class


10/02/13 - Wednesday
  • Quiz F - Sig Figs and Sci Not.
  • Q’s, go over blue Calculations w/ Sci Not WS - Collect
  • Work time on Classification of Matter activity
  • Start on Sci Not Review Sheet - Take notes for Quiz F


10/01/13 - Tuesday

9/30/13 - Monday

9/27/13 - Friay

9/26/13 - Thursday
  • Salt and Pepper seperation
  • Big sig fig gig big sig fig gig
  • Redo grad cylinder measurements
  • quiz info
  • Pre-quiz
  • Check in with Asher
  • Redo Sig Fig sheets?


9/25/13 - Wednesday
  • Questions on lab/collect
  • Quick sig fig check
  • Introduction to Scientific Notation, WS in class Scientific notation intro ws.pdf
  • Start Physical and Chemical changes ws, finish for HW


9/24/13 - Tuesday
  • questions on sig figs? Collect ws
  • WS Ch 18.1, 18.2 Classification and properties of matter - finish and collect
  • Review properties of matter - notes
  • Do Chromatography lab Chromatography lab.pdf

9/23/13 - Monday
  • Finish going over sig fig rules, examples
  • Collect Measurement and Sig Fig WS
  • Define terms 18.2 physical change, physical property ,chemical change, chemical property, distillation, law of conservation of mass
  • WS Ch 18.1, 18.2 Classification and properties of matter Classification and properties of matter ws.pdf
  • Check Synergy?
  • Quiz Friday Science notes, accuracy, precision, mixtures, etc., physical and chemical changes



9/20/13 - Friday


9/19/13 - Thursday
  • Check for definitions in NB Science, Hypothesis, Experiment, Law, Model, Variable, Theory, Bias, Dependent_Variable,
    Control, Technology, Independent_Variable, Constant, Accuracy, Precision, Volume, Mass, Density
  • Hypothesis Activity Hypothesis Activity.pdf
  • Making Measurements
  • Notes on Significant Figures

9/18/13 - Wednesday
  • Finish/collect Accuracy & Precision Lab
  • Get Notebooks, put together
  • Definitions in NB
  • Start Hypothesis Activity



9/17/13 - Tuesday
  • Review Scientific Method
  • Collect NB Covers
  • Finish, Collect Nature of Science vocab WS
  • Accuracy & Precision Lab Accuracy and Precision lab.pdf
  • Finish NB covers as needed?

9/16/13 - Monday
  • Nature of Science vocab WS, Nature of science vocab ws.pdf
  • Collect textbook assignment
  • Hand back papers
  • Clickers: Elements, Compounds & Mixtures
  • Accuracy and Precision intro
  • Get Notebooks, make cover

9/13/13 - Friday

9/12/13 - Thursday

9/11/13 - Wednesday
  • Get seats, fill out seating chart
  • Finish survey PS survey.pdf
  • Learn about Asher
  • Go over syllabus and class procedures
    File Not Found
    File Not Found
  • Review class resources
  • Start assignment sheet Assignment Sheet.pdf